Christ The King

by carlocmd

Last Sunday was doubly wonderful because we celebrated two special occasions.  One was the Feast of Christ the King.  The other was my son’s first Holy Communion.

“Dad,” my son said, “remember I told you I was scared before my First Confession?  I didn’t know what would happen.  It gave me tummy aches.”

“And what happened?” I asked.

“Nothing!” he replied.  “I’m scared the same way.  Because mom said a transformation was going to happen.  Will I change too much?”

Mom was saying that he would be transformed into a member of the Church.  From watching his cartoons, I guess “transform” had a scary meaning (i.e. doesn’t Ben 10 transform all the time?).  Maybe he was worried he’ll turn into something else.

His hands were cold.  There was a nervous energy around him, and he would jitter about.

You have always been a child of God, I said, a wonder of His creation.  You will be transformed, true, but all of these changes will happen on the inside.  You would remain as you are, the one we love wholeheartedly and unconditionally.

He went through the Mass without difficulty.

“Dad, for years I wondered what the bread would taste like,” he said after.  “Now I know… it tastes just like bread!”

And he laughed his childhood laugh, full of unrestrained joy, filling us with his peace and love.

“Can we go to mass tomorrow?” he asked.

“Yes, we can,” I said.

“I want to try receiving communion by hand this time!” he explained.

